The Board of Trustees of Defiance Public Library met for a Special meeting on Thursday, January 7, 2021, via Zoom virtual meeting; notice of said meeting pursuant to O.R.C. 121 having been posted.

President Chris Korhn called the meeting to order at 4:01 pm. In attendance were Board members: Ken Boroff, Beth Michel and Jayne Yoder. Staff members present: Cara Potter and Nancy Roehrig. Visitors present: None.

4:07 pm

Beth Michel moved and Ken Boroff seconded the motion to enter into executive session for the purpose of discussing collective bargaining matters, and employment and compensation of public employees. Roll Call Ayes: Chris Korhn, Ken Boroff, Beth Michel, and Jayne Yoder. Nays: None. Motion carried.

4:45pm

Jayne Yoder moved and Beth Michel seconded the motion to return to regular session. Motion carried.

Jayne Yoder moved and Ken Boroff seconded the motion to approve the 2021-2023 Collective Bargaining Agreement, as ratified by the OAPSE/AFSME Local 4, AFL-CIO and its Local #277. Motion carried.

Beth Michel moved and Ken Boroff seconded the motion to approve the 2021 A-O Wage Step Schedule for Administrative, Professional and Management Staff. Motion carried.

Ken Boroff moved and Jayne Yoder seconded the motion to approve the 2021 Wage and Salary List for all Library System Employees, with the removal of the Library Director and Chief Fiscal Officer. Motion carried.

First Name	Last Name	Rate
Elizabeth	Alexander	13.08
Cara	Bolley	18.77
Joan	DeSota	10.84
Amy	Eitniear	9.72
Mindy	Enderle	19.53
Brenda	Froelich	10.20
Hilary	Gabers	10.63
Karlee	Harris	12.82
Amber	Headley	12.82
Katherine	Holtsberry	20.51
Renee	Hopper	19.72
Krista	Kirsch	12.82
Pamela	Kranenburg	19.14
Taryn	Lawson	18.60
Sarah	Marshall	13.88
Shannon	McClure	15.60
Marja	McGuire	22.20
Craig	Miller	10.84
Christina	Pergram	12.82
Kristy	Pollock	10.63
Angela	Powell	19.72
Zachary	Ridgway	9.72
Patricia	Rigg	14.26
Gail	Rutherford	20.72
Hannah	Short	10.63
Donna	Smith	15.93
Tabitha	Sullivan	19.72
Elaine	Talbert	17.74
Emily	Waisner	13.08
Victoria	Westrick	13.34
Lora	Wood	10.84

Beth Michel moved and Ken Boroff seconded the motion to approve the revised DPLS Personnel Policy – Section 5.2 Vacation as presented.

SECTION 5.2 VACATION

1. Eligibility:

- 1. The Director, Fiscal Officer, Supervisors, and Librarians shall receive four (4) weeks of vacation per year.
- 2. Thirty- two (32) hour employees receive the same pro-rated share thirty (30) hour employees receive.
- 3. Years of service vacation for all other employees:

Service Time	Monthly Accrual	Annual Total
0-5 Years	1 day	10 days (2 weeks)
6 – 10 Years	1.5 days	15 days (3 weeks)
11 + Years	2 days	20 days (4 weeks)

2. Accrual

- 1. The number of vacation hours per week equals the employees assigned work week hours.
- 2. Vacation is earned January through October. If a new hire begins work in November or December, they do not begin accruing vacation until the first pay period of the new year
- 3. New hires may begin using accrued vacation after they complete their probationary period.
- 4. Vacation time will be posted with the second payroll of each month for time accrued that month. Vacation time will only be earned in full month increments.
- 5. Employees do not accrue vacation while on unpaid leaves of absence and other unpaid leave.
- 6. The anniversary date of vacation accrual is the start of the payroll year.

3. Vacation Usage

- 1. Vacation leave may be taken in minimum units of one-quarter (1/4) hour for nonbargaining employees. Vacation leave for bargaining unit employees is covered by the Collective Bargaining Agreement.
- 2. For one (1) day or less of leave requested, a two (2) day notice is required to the Supervisor. For more than one (1) day of leave, at least fourteen (14) days of notice is required to the Supervisor.
- 3. Vacation leave may be denied during a specific period if the workload dictates.
- 4. When two (2) or more employees request the same vacation date and all requests cannot be granted, the request of the employee with the most service with the department will be granted, provided the request is submitted a minimum of one (1) month in advance.
- 5. Leaves requested less than one (1) month in advance will be granted in the order received. Once an employee has received approval for vacation leave they may not be displaced by a more senior employee.
- 6. Vacation must be used in the payroll year that it is earned with the following

exceptions:

- a) All employees can roll over up to one week of unused vacation time from one payroll year to the next.
- b) At the last pay period each year the employee can choose to have up to two (2) days of their unused vacation (based on their pro-rated work week) paid out in one-quarter (1/4) hour increments at the employee's hourly rate up to a maximum of two (2) days.
- 7. Administrative, Supervisory, and Professional Staff
 - a) Annually, time off requested by administrative staff, supervisors, and librarians by the date of the February Board Meeting will receive priority consideration. All other time off will be approved by the Library Director/Supervisor prioritizing operation continuity and in the order that requests are submitted.
 - b) The Library Director and Chief Fiscal Officer shall not use vacation leave simultaneously for a period longer than two consecutive days without the permission of the Board of Trustees.
- 4. Vacation Upon Separation of Employment
 - a) Upon retirement or resignation, employees will be paid for all unused vacation hours.

Motion carried.

Ken Boroff moved and Beth Michel seconded the motion to approve the corrected minutes from the November 18, 2020 Regular Board meeting. Motion carried.

The CFO provided a report of credit card rewards received by the Library, as required by Ohio Revised Code.

The next Regular meeting of the Library Board, which will be combined with the 2021 Organizational meeting, is scheduled for Wednesday, January 27, 2021 at 4:00 pm at Defiance Public Library.

Beth Michel moved and Jayne Yoder seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting.

Meeting adjourned by Board President Chris Korhn at 4:53pm.

/	President
---	-----------

, Secretary